Skip to content

Vietnamese Chicken Curry

05/09/2010

Today’s challenge is to make Vietnamese Chicken Curry that isn’t too spicy. The first time I made this, I followed the recipe closely, and it was shockingly hot. It wasn’t the red pepper flakes that did it; it was the sneaky black pepper. Surprising what a teaspoon of that will do.

I didn’t have any sweet potatoes that first time, so I substituted butternut squash instead. This worked out really well, just not in the way I expected. The squash totally disintegrated, which thickened and flavored the sauce. So it wasn’t as chunky as it should be, but it was darn tasty. If only we could eat it without swallowing hellfire and grass.

I’d cut the lemongrass into too-small chunks, so it was impossible to remove or eat around. In my defense, I followed the recipe on this point, but I really should have known better. Don’t cut lemongrass any smaller than necessary to fit in the pot; you’ll want to remove the stalks before serving.

The second time I made it, I cut back on the black pepper and left out the squash. One step forward, and one step back. Sauce too thin but not a gut-burner.

Today, I have both squash and sweet potatoes. I’ll leave out most of the pepper and keep the lemongrass long. Let’s hope the third time’s the charm. I’ll post the recipe when it’s all ironed out. If it’s pretty, I’ll post a photo, too.

P.S. Don’t tell Stephanie about the squash.

From → Crockpot, Food

2 Comments
  1. Stephanie permalink

    I heard that.

    • mkc permalink

      Too late. Much too late. And no one was the wiser.

Leave a Reply

