Skip to content

Opening Line

09/29/2011

Call & Response, my collaborative effort with John Casey, is now available for sale. Where, you ask? For starters, you can buy it directly from this blog using the PayPal link on the right. Retail price is $20, plus shipping.

Local folks can also pick up copies at Swarm Gallery in Oakland. And soon Call & Response will be available in other arts-related bookshops in the Bay Area. I will post updates about retail locations as they are confirmed.

Meanwhile, the Swarm Gallery opening and show Tall Tales: Collaborative Projects by John Casey & Friends opens on Saturday, October 1st. JC and I will both be there for the opening reception, between 6-9 p.m. If you’re in the area, come on by. Wet Dream beer will be provided by The Trappist!

And now, another story teaser. This time, I’m posting the opening lines from a piece that is only in the book and not on display in the Swarm show. You will have to peek at a copy of the book to read more. Then you can decide what you think it’s about. This one is a collaboration in which John’s drawing came first. Here is the image he drew:

Germinate

And my opening response …

“Don’t mind this thing on my head. Really. It’s just something I’m trying to work out. It won’t hurt you, at least I don’t think it will. It seems benign so far.”

I admit that this one makes me laugh every time I read it. I’m thinking about making a prop hat that resembles the headgear in question. Not sure if I’d wear it at the opening, but we’ll see what happens between now and then …

From → Art, Books, Oakland

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

