Skip to content

Color Field

06/20/2012

And now for part two of the ancient art archives

Hold onto your seat. It’s going to be good. Promise.

The first thing I ran into was a giant stack of Color Tag paper left over from my freshman-year Color Theory class. Every student had to fork out money for a package of small (about 5×8) paper for the class. With that paper, we completed assignments like this, painstakingly cut by hand with an X-ACTO knife. Do kids even use real paper anymore, or is everything done on computers now?

Color Assignments

If you look closely, you’ll see that the one in the lower-right corner is made up of countless letters pasted onto a background. What was I thinking? Crazy. I can’t remember the point of that assignment, or why it’s all text (the letters in my name, actually). It seems that the point of most of these exercises was either to simulate color-mixing/overlay, or this:

(aka the infamous vibrating color theory)
Vibrating Colors

That’s not the best example in the world, but it was the best I could do using this pile of paper, a very large, unfortunately wrinkled, stack of 20×30″ Color Tag that was also in the archives. Too bad I didn’t store it flat. Then again, why did I store it at all?

ColorTag Paper

We also did projects in acrylic paint. A lot of masking tape was involved.

Theory

And then there were the crazy free-form assignments. This one came at the end of the year but I have no idea what the restrictions were. I suspect that if there were rules, I broke them. That happened a lot.

Freeform

And then there was this, about which I have absolutely no memory or explanation. Based on the masking and size, it has to be for the color class, but what in tarnation is going on here? It’s Picasso-meets-Dr.Zhivago. On absinthe. With a cat.

WTF?

That one’s a keeper for the WTF? files. Caption suggestions welcome.

In case you’re wondering where all this spectral madness occurred, it was Parsons School of Design. I found this early ’80s poster in the pile—yet another thing I rolled up that is now completely wrinkled. If there’s one thing I learned from this visual treasure hunt, it’s DON’T ROLL PAPER FOR STORAGE. Period.

Parsons School of Design

Aside from the colorful gems above, I found these other drawings that made me laugh. This one could be from another year; I’m not really sure. I think the assignment was to take a museum piece (in this case, a Greco-Roman sculpture) and draw it in a different context, but I can’t remember the teacher or class. Still, it’s rather amusing.

Julia Caesar Child?

And then there’s this, an elaborate cartoon. I don’t know whether it’s funny because of its humor or funny because it’s just so peculiar. Note the gremlins. You might have to click on the image to see them, as the original drawing is 20×30″. I think this still characterizes my reaction to the alarm clock every morning.

Wake Up!

Next time, we’ll take a look at some funny (and fantastic) posters from the age of videocassette. For you young whipper-snappers, video was this crazy plastic tape that held recorded movies and media. Kind of like a DVD, if you remember those, but bigger, more tempermental, and expensive.

From → Art, Weird Things

2 Comments
  1. I actually remember that last one!

    • mkc permalink

      It totally surprised me. I only vaguely recall doing it. So funny. I definitely kept it.

Leave a Reply

