Skip to content

Beautiful Fish

07/02/2012

This weekend, we picked up a fish for dinner, an Arctic char. It was a gorgeous fish, sleek and iridescent. And it smelled really nice.

Char

This was one of the easiest meals I have ever made. I rubbed the fish with oil, salt, and pepper, and then I lightly stuffed it with garlic, chopped bell peppers (orange), and home-grown scallions. Plus a dash of mint. These ingredients were meant to flavor the fish. We didn’t eat them later.

Stuffed Fish

I should take a moment here to say that most people would use olive oil, and I get that, but I’ve recently decided that I don’t like olive oil. I used to, but I just don’t now. I used walnut oil, my favorite go-to flavor.

Baked the fish at 450° for about 25 minutes. Your cooking time will vary, depending on the size of the fish. Ours was exactly two pounds. Check it early and don’t overcook. This NY Times video was helpful to watch with regard to cooking times and how to test for doneness.

Baked Fish

The char was tender, moist, and flavorful, somewhere between salmon and trout. Marvelous.

I served the fish with a salsa of mango, heirloom tomato, tiny bits of those same orange peppers, and cilantro. Tasty.

Plated Fish

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

