Skip to content

Flaky Fish

07/17/2012

I made a yummy baked catfish tonight–another meal that’s both cheap and easy, courtesy of my dad’s kitchen. Here is all you need:

catfish (I made this for two people)
an egg
a bit of milk
flour
2 cups of corn flakes
side veggies of your choosing

Preheat the oven to 375. Beat the egg with a little milk. I used about a quarter cup.

20120717-220924.jpg

Put about a cup of flour on a plate. Lightly crush the corn flakes onto another plate.

20120717-221105.jpg

Cut fish fillets into halves or manageable pieces. Coat the fish in flour, dip in the egg-milk mixture, and dredge in the corn flakes. Place on a rack on top of a cookie sheet and bake for about 35 minutes (maybe less if you cut your catfish into small pieces).

20120717-221601.jpg

I served this with a slice of lemon and choice of non-spicy salsa fresca or light tartar sauce made of 3/4 Greek yogurt, 1/4 mayo, and sweet pickle relish to taste. The tomato mix was delicious, but I have an uncontrollable need to have tartar sauce with anything that resembles a battered fish. This had a lighter, crunchier texture than the deep-fried variety, but it was pretty tasty–and much easier to prepare.

Added corn on the cob and half a sweet potato for veggies. I know, I know. I should have made something green, but I just didn’t feel like dealing with the string beans I had bought. No one seemed to care.

20120717-221735.jpg

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

