Skip to content

Caramelized

09/24/2012

Yesterday, I made cupcakes for a friend’s birthday, and I just had to pass along this Food Network chocolate cake recipe, which has become my standard. I’d never used it to make cupcakes before, but they came out really well, moist and delicious.

Cupcakes

The only change I made to the overall recipe was choosing caramel frosting instead of chocolate. I used this one from Paula Deen, which was really good and very easy to make. I skipped the walnuts though.

One of the best parts about baking is being able to use this Kitchen Aid cutie. Check out the nice “wasabi” color.

Kitchen Aid

I mixed up the cake batter exactly as described. Be sure to use good coffee; it really makes a difference.

Cake Batter

To adjust for baking cupcakes vs. using standard-size pans, I increased the oven temperature to 375° and checked for doneness after 18 minutes. As with larger cakes, you can poke the center with a toothpick; when it comes out clean, they are ready. I probably could have cooked them for 20 minutes without drying or burning, but they were fine at first check, so I took them out. You can find some other good cupcake-baking tips here.

Baked Cakes

Add a little caramel goodness, and voilå!

Cupcake

You could try a little salt on top for a savory twist, but don’t go crazy with this. Be sure to test it out first so you don’t ruin your dessert by trying to be trendy. It’ll give you an excuse to sample a cupcake before the party.

From → Desserts, Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

